New cookbooks

I inherited a Barnes & Noble gift card over the weekend and this morning I made a visit to the big store downtown. I haven’t been there in years, I think, and these days when I get books I either go to the library or get them from Amazon.com. So I spent some time perusing around the store. I sat down and browsed/read Eat This, Not That. I was waiting to get this from the library, but haven’t gotten it yet. It was an interesting little read. I don’t eat at chain places much so this was pretty irrelevant for me, but it might be useful for someone that does go to chain places a lot.

I ended up buying two cookbooks:

Not Your Mother’s Weeknight Cooking by Beth Hensperger, which looks like it will be another good go-to cookbook for me for quick meals. I already own Hensperger’s Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Recipes for Two and started using it pretty regularly after I got it last year. I really like the writer’s style and that they provide such easily accessible recipes.

And I purchased Nestle Classic Recipes. As the title suggests, this cookbook has all of the classic Nestle recipes…the Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies, my favorite Butterscotch Oatmeal Scotchies and a bunch of mouthwatering, tasty cookies, brownies, and sweets. I really can’t wait to try them all. 🙂

I will leave with a video clip from Friends where Monica tries to find out Phoebe’s grandmother’s cookie recipe, which ends up being the recipe for Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe:

Leave a Reply

