Pondering the “What if’s”…

I will admit Tim Russert wasn’t always perfect, but in reading through my usual round of blogs, there’s always a discussion and update about what happened on the Sunday morning talk shows. I have wondered how Tim Russert would have handled an interview with Sarah Palin or McCain. I would imagine Tim Russert would really ask Sarah tough questions and leave her leaving with a blanker look than she had during her other interviews. I’m sure he’d ask Obama & Biden tough questions too, but I think there’s so much he would be able to corner McCain/Palin with that they’d be stumped with. There’s absolutely no one on the major networks now that I can see doing the kind of job he would have done. Tim Russert was actually intelligent, had a vast knowledge of history and was really an all around great guy and I think in this election circus, his voice is one that is sorely needed.

Of course there’s nothing we can do, but you can always imagine.

Thinking of people I wish had stayed around until at least next year, I’ve been thinking how much fun George Carlin would be having right now with Sarah Palin (and McCain). I don’t have the creativity to think of the kind of jokes or cracks Carlin would make, but comedians now are having so much fun with McCain/Palin that a legend like Carlin would probably one up all of them. Of all the folks I watch now, I think the one closest to Carlin’s comedy style has to be Bill Maher. I think Maher touches on many of the thoughts Carlin would have during this whole cycle, but I think Carlin would add his special Carlin touch that no comedians now have.

Anyway, when Russert and Carlin died earlier this year, I did think of how much we would need them during this election and now that we’re here, I’m really noticing their absence. So, once again, Russert and Carlin, rest in peace. But I’m grateful to have Bill Maher here making us laugh during this election.

I will leave with some recent clips of Bill Maher’s New Rules:

Oct 24, 2008

Oct 17, 2008

Oct 10, 2008

Leave a Reply

