That melatonin…

I’ve started taking melatonin and Valerian root, switching between the two each night, to help me get to sleep. They both do work really well to get me relaxed and I sleep better with them. The only thing, though, is that they both bring about some wacky dreams. I’ve found Valerian root gives me wackier dreams and with both supplements, I recall my dreams pretty clearly when I wake up in the morning. I’ve thought that maybe I should keep a dream journal again about my melatonin/Valerian dreams.

Last night, though, the melatonin kicked up a real doozy of a dream. I’m feeling good about Obama’s prospects and have a mix of confidence and extreme nervousness about next Tuesday. I kinda just want to hide until next Thursday and make it all be over. I know I’m not the only one feeling all this right now.

Anyway, maybe I shouldn’t say what my dream was, but it was basically about me waking up and reading the headlines that the election didn’t go the way I’m hoping it goes. I guess my fears about the election filtered into my subconscious. The dream jolted me awake. Luckily I fell back to sleep, but ack. Hopefully I won’t have any more dreams like that.

I will leave with a few peaceful songs to counteract last night’s dream.:
Return to Innocence by Enigma

Caribbean Blue by Enya


The Lady of Shalott
by Loreena McKennitt

2 Comments

  1. onely said,

    October 29, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Sleep problems are the worst! I take melatonin now too, and I’m doing acupuncture (um, GETTING acupuncture I mean), which seems to be helping a lot. For a while I took chlonazapam, which of course isn’t even close to natural at all, and that stuff gave me some seriously freaky dreams. I haven’t noticed dreams with the melatonin and am curious to try valerian root now. . .

  2. pishposhetc said,

    October 29, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    It might be because I’m still starting with the melatonin. I’ve been taking Valerian off and on for awhile.

    The dreams do make sleep more interesting anyway.


Leave a Reply

