It’s a Sunny Day in Philadelphia!

We did it! Obama is the President of the United States! Last night I watched my coverage on MSNBC and it was great seeing favorite newscasters following the race throughout the night. We’re so lucky to have Keith Olbermann and Rachel Maddow in our media now. And Chris Matthews was great to have on there last night too. Every time they announced a “key” state I cheered and I was jumping around my apartment with tears in my eyes when they finally announced that Obama won. I know my cats thought I was a nut case. I called a whole bunch of my friends and everyone was just so indescribably happy.

Outside my apartment, I heard cars honking their horns, firecrackers (at least I hope they were firecrackers) and some cheering.

This morning at my train station, everyone was walking up with a huge smile on their face and cheering at this historic and great news. At a stop a few stops after mine, a young woman stepped on the train and said, “Good morning!!” really loud and the whole car cheered. She talked about how she had no sleep last night and was running on adrenaline.

I’m so very happy for our city and for our country. I haven’t felt this proud of us for a long time and I feel like a huge burden has been lifted. I was hoping to get a copy of the New York Times today, but every newsstand I stopped at was sold out. I sent a couple of my New York based friends out looking for a copy for me too, but that was to no avail. So….if any of my readers have an extra copy of today’s NY Times, I’ll be happy to buy it off you!

As for me, I’m very happy that they’re rerunning Jon Stewart & Stephen Colbert’s election special right now. I started watching it last night, but, as much as I love my boys, I think Colbert’s comedy was making me too antsy at a time when I was getting anxious. It makes me happy watching it now. I know how the game turns out so I can just watch and really enjoy, reliving the excitement of last night.

I will sign off first with Obama’s acceptance speech:

And then here is the unofficial song of Obama’s campaign, Sign Sealed Delivered by Stevie Wonder

Leave a Reply

