Phillies make the World Series!

The sports world is so not my scene and never really has been. But I can’t help but get some sense of city pride when one of our teams actually gets to the World Series or the Super Bowl or boos Sarah Palin.

And I’ve been so out of it that I only know of one player on the Phillies, Jimmy Rollins. The last time the Phillies got close to the World Series was in the early 90s. I remember it well because I was in my first year of high school and got a bit into the whole frenzy of the thing. Lenny Dykstra, Darren Dolton, Jon Kruk were on the team. Mitch Williams lost the tiebreaking game and got all kinda hate for it. Crazy times. Glad that’s over. There really is so much else going on the world, sports don’t matter.

Anyway, so, here’s hoping the Phillies beat whomever they come up against. Philly teams deserve to win a championship game for once.

I will leave with the unofficial theme song of the ’93 Phillies, Whoomp There It Is by Tag Team:

And a tribute to the ’93 Phillies:

Palin game

I was gonna do a post about Joe the Plumber, but I think it’s all getting overplayed about now so I won’t bother.

If you want a giggle, check out this site, Palin as President

Lotsa fun.